Skip to main content
site header image

HSLIC: Distinguished Member Award

Maine Health Science Libraries and Information Consortium

Eleanor C. Cairns Award

Eleanor C. Cairns
Distinguished HSLIC Librarian Award

HSLIC members may nominate a fellow member for excellence and achievement in contributions to HSLIC, to his or her own institution and community, or to the library profession. Nominations are accepted starting in January and are then reviewed by a selection committee appointed by the HSLIC Executive Board.

The Committee selects a nominated member and the award is announced at the HSLIC Spring Meeting. The award is then presented at the annual awards ceremony held by the Maine Hospital Association.

2018 Cairns Award Recipient

Our 2018 Eleanor C. Cairns Distinguished Librarian Award Recipient: Elizabeth Dyer!

Beth is described by peers as an incredible leader and librarian who has served HSLIC and the profession with dignity and respect through a difficult time. She is knowledgeable and accomplished and has led HSLIC with foresight and vision. She brings fresh ideas and wisdom to the profession, for example a virtual reality empathy training program for medical students.