Below is a list of NAHSL committees, including brief descriptions of their functions, along with names of each Committee Chair and their term dates. If you are interested in volunteering to work on a committee, please contact the NAHSL Chair or Committee Chairs directly.
Chair: Bridget Gunn (October 2018 - October 2020)
Responsible for overall maintenance of NAHSL's archives, both digital and print. Makes decisions about appropriateness of placement of materials in the archives. Reviews the archival collection on a regular basis. Coordinates with Secretary and Technology Support Committee as needed.
Chair: Lisa Philpotts (July 2018-October 2020)
Responsible for annual review of the Chapter's Bylaws, Executive Board Handbook, and other official documents for clarity and currency; proposing revisions to these documents to the Executive Board and the membership as needed; and interpreting these documents for the Executive Board and the membership when questions arise.
Conference Chair 2018: Eugenia Liu (October 2016 - October 2018)
Conference Chair 2019: Chelsea Delnero (October 2017 - October 2019)
Conference Chair 2020: Donna Belcinski (October 2018 - October 2020)
Committee is organized two years prior to each annual conference. The Committee membership typically includes the Chair of the host state’s group, a Conference Co-chair (appointed by the Conference Chair and approved by the Executive Board), and three ex- officio members as follows: the NAHSL Chair, the NAHSL Treasurer, and the NAHSL Education Chair. Other members of the Conference Committee may be appointed as needed by the Conference Chair.
Chair: Meredith Solomon (Oct. 2017 - Oct. 2019)
Selects, plans, sponsors, and evaluates CE offerings for both the annual NAHSL meeting and also for other times during the year. Coordinates MLA webcasts. Conducts assessments of NAHSL members’ educational needs. Committee includes: Chair, Chair-Elect, a Conference Education Coordinator from the current year’s Conference host state, and one or more voting members of NAHSL.
Treasurer: Rachel Lerner (January 2017 - December 2019)
Advises and assists NAHSL Treasurer with preparing and monitoring budget, including all revenue sources and expenditures. Provides guidance to Treasurer on all fiscal matters. Committee consists of Chair (elected and designated NAHSL Treasurer), NAHSL Chair, NAHSL Chair-Elect, immediate past Treasurer and two representatives-at-large.
GOVERNMENT RELATIONS COMMITTEE
Chair: Melissa Funaro (September 2018 - October 2020)
Serves as a conduit for communication between NAHSL and MLA Government Relations Committee. Monitors existing and pending legislation and the implementation of public laws and actions by state/federal executive departments as reflected in proposed and existing regulations. Committee consists of Chair and one or more voting members of NAHSL, with representatives from each state in the Chapter.
Chair: Martha Meacham (October 2018 - October 2020)
Committee is two-fold; (1) to raise awareness of and promote the value of the organization to health sciences librarians in the region, and (2) support and advocate for the value of health sciences librarianship to stakeholders including hospital and academic administrations, health care providers, and the public. Committee consists of Chair and four or more voting members of NAHSL.
Chair: Valori Banfi (October 2015 - October 2021)
Reviews, recommends, and assists in the implementation of policies to promote membership in the association. Assists with planning and evaluation of membership promotion efforts. Assists with implementing specific membership development strategies, such as prospective member list development, telephone follow-up, and new member welcome and reception. Committee consists of Chair and one or more voting members of NAHSL, with representatives from each state in the Chapter.
Chair: Ellen Brassil (October 2018-October 2019)
Collects names to be added to the slate for election to the NAHSL Executive Board. Solicits NAHSL Achievement Award nominations and recommends awardee(s) to Executive Board.
Chair: Gary Atwood (June 2018 - October 2020)
Advertises, reviews, and awards financial reimbursement for professional development opportunities to NAHSL members based on established criteria. Committee consists of Committee Chair, NAHSL Chair, Past NAHSL Chair, NAHSL Treasurer, Membership Chair, Education Chair and NAHSL members at large. Committee Chair and Members at Large serve 2 years, with the possibility of reappointment for a second two-year term.
TECHNOLOGY SUPPORT COMMITTEE
Chair: Tess Grynoch (October 2017 - October 2019)
Responsible for providing access to all of the NAHSL Technology platforms for members, which currently includes the Listservs (General and Executive Board), Libguides, (general, executive board, Conference Committee, Annual Conferences, etc.), Blog, Twitter feed, nahsl.org and membership database. The committee provides troubleshooting and assistance (as needed) for board members and other volunteers in using the organizations’ technology platforms. Committee members serve as the vendor contact for the associated products.