Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NAHSL: Committees


NAHSL Committee Information

Below is a list of NAHSL committees, including brief descriptions of their functions, along with names of each Committee Chair and their term dates. If you are interested in volunteering to work on a committee, please contact the NAHSL Chair or Committee Chairs directly.



Chair: Ellen Brassil (October 2019 - October 2021)

The Advocacy Committee develops strategies to strengthen the viability of libraries and recognition of their value. The committee seeks to advance the stature of health sciences libraries and influence organization decision-making that affects library and knowledge services. Committee efforts are aimed at helping to stabilize libraries, avert threats of closings, lay-offs and downsizing and countering faulty beliefs and practices. The Advocacy Committee shares critical information and promotes the benefits of libraries to stakeholders, institutions and the larger health care community.



Chair: Bridget Gunn (October 2018 - October 2021)

Responsible for overall maintenance of NAHSL's archives, both digital and print. Makes decisions about appropriateness of placement of materials in the archives. Reviews the archival collection on a regular basis. Coordinates with Secretary and Technology Support Committee as needed.



Chair: Lisa Philpotts (July 2018-October 2021)

Responsible for annual review of the Chapter's Bylaws, Executive Board Handbook, and other official documents for clarity and currency; proposing revisions to these documents to the Executive Board and the membership as needed; and interpreting these documents for the Executive Board and the membership when questions arise.



Conference Chair 2021: Debra Berlanstein

Conference Co-Chairs 2022: Melissa Funaro and Beth Dyer (October 2019 - October 2022)

Committee is organized two years prior to each annual conference. The Committee membership typically includes the Chair of the host state’s group, a Conference Co-chair (appointed by the Conference Chair and approved by the Executive Board), and three ex- officio members as follows: the NAHSL Chair, the NAHSL Treasurer, and the NAHSL Education Chair. Other members of the Conference Committee may be appointed as needed by the Conference Chair.



Chair: Alice Stokes (Jan. 2019 - Oct. 2021)

Selects, plans, sponsors, and evaluates CE offerings for both the annual NAHSL meeting and also for other times during the year.  Coordinates MLA webcasts. Conducts assessments of NAHSL members’ educational needs. Committee includes: Chair, Chair-Elect, a Conference Education Coordinator from the current year’s Conference host state, and one or more voting members of NAHSL.



Treasurer: Lindsay Barnett (January 2021 - January 2024)

Advises and assists NAHSL Treasurer with preparing and monitoring budget, including all revenue sources and expenditures. Provides guidance to Treasurer on all fiscal matters. Committee consists of Chair (elected and designated NAHSL Treasurer), NAHSL Chair, NAHSL Chair-Elect, immediate past Treasurer and two representatives-at-large.



Chair: Melissa Funaro (September 2018 - October 2022)

Serves as a conduit for communication between NAHSL and MLA Governmental Relations Committee. Monitors existing and pending legislation and the implementation of public laws and actions by state/federal executive departments as reflected in proposed and existing regulations. Committee consists of Chair and one or more voting members of NAHSL, with representatives from each state in the Chapter.



Chair: Dana Haugh (October 2019 - October 2021)

Committee is two-fold; (1) to raise awareness of and promote the value of the organization to health sciences librarians in the region, and (2) support and advocate for the value of health sciences librarianship to stakeholders including hospital and academic administrations, health care providers, and the public. Committee consists of Chair and four or more voting members of NAHSL.



Chair: Valori Banfi (October 2009 - October 2021)

Reviews, recommends, and assists in the implementation of policies to promote membership in the association. Assists with planning and evaluation of membership promotion efforts. Assists with implementing specific membership development strategies, such as prospective member list development, telephone follow-up, and new member welcome and reception. Committee consists of Chair and one or more voting members of NAHSL, with representatives from each state in the Chapter.



Chair: Beth Dyer (October 2020-October 2021)

Collects names to be added to the slate for election to the NAHSL Executive Board. Solicits NAHSL Achievement Award nominations and recommends awardee(s) to Executive Board.



Chair: Gary Atwood (June 2018 - October 2022)

Advertises, reviews, and awards financial reimbursement for professional development opportunities and the Jay Daly Grant to NAHSL members based on established criteria. Committee consists of Committee Chair, NAHSL Chair, Past NAHSL Chair, NAHSL Treasurer, Membership Chair, Education Chair and NAHSL members at large. Committee Chair and Members at Large serve 2 years, with the possibility of reappointment for a second two-year term.



Chair: Tess Grynoch (October 2017 - October 2021)

Responsible for providing access to all of the NAHSL Technology platforms for members, which currently includes the Listservs (General and Executive Board), Libguides, (general, executive board, Conference Committee, Annual Conferences, etc.), Blog, Twitter feed, and membership database. The chair appoints a committee member to the Jay Daly Grant Committee. The committee provides troubleshooting and assistance (as needed) for board members and other volunteers in using the organizations’ technology platforms.  Committee members serve as the vendor contact for the associated products.

Committee Members:
Lisa Adriani
Len Levin