Skip to Main Content

NAHSL: Finding Aid

NAHSL Finding Aid

Finding Aid - North Atlantic Health Sciences Libraries. Records, 1957 – 2022

(Updated 11/18/21)

Title
North Atlantic Health Sciences Libraries. Records, 1957-2016

Creator
North Atlantic Health Science Libraries, Inc.

Inclusive Dates
1957-2016, ongoing>

Extent
11 Boxes, numbered [NS] 0001-0007, and [NS] 0013.
Note: Box numbers correspond with their Harvard Depository code numbers.

Accruals
Further accruals are expected. Dates reflect most current materials actually housed in collections.

Abstract
North Atlantic Health Science Libraries (NAHSL) was formed in 1958. Its purpose as defined by the Bylaws is as follows: "The purpose of this Chapter shall be to promote health sciences libraries and librarianship; to strengthen the delivery of health information services within the Chapter boundaries; and to actively support the mission and standards of the MLA". The records contained within this collection reflect the business activities and events of NAHSL.

Language
English

Finding Aid Prepared By
Finding aid prepared by Cathy Pate and Martha Meacham (October 2016).

Repository
The collection is housed in the Harvard Depository. Requests to view collection should be submitted to the NAHSL Archives Chair. Advanced notice is required.

Access Restrictions
The collection is open and available for research. Prior notice is required to retreive items from offsite storage.

Brief Collection Inventory

Series 1: Program Development, Planning, and Review Records. 1957-2015

  • Box 1
  • Box 2
  • Box 3
  • Box 4

 

Series 2: Sub-Committees and Special Projects Records

  • Box 5

 

Series 3: NAHSL History

  • Box 6

 

Series 4: Publications - Newsletters

  • Box 6

 

Series 5: Photographs and Memorabilia

  • Box 7
  • Box 13

 

Series 6: NAHSL Financial Records

  • Box 14
  • Box 15
  • Box 16

 

Detailed Collection Inventory

Series 1: Program Development, Planning, and Review Records. 1957-2016
Scope and Content: Contains meeting planning notes including expenses, agendas, minutes, reports, attendee lists, surveys, and post-meeting correspondence for NAHSL's yearly business meetings. This series also includes meeting minutes, correspondence, financial statements, reports, membership directories, and audio recordings for the NAHSL Executive Board and special sub-committees.

Box 1: Series 1 - Folder List

  • 1957-1958: New England Regional Group of the MLA, Organizational meetings, November 23, 1957, Yale Medical Library, New Haven, CT. | Stratford High School, April 30, 1958
  • 1958: New England Regional Group of the MLA,, 1st Annual Meeting, Boston Medical Library, Boston, MA. December 5,6,1958. Chair: Charles Colby, 3rd
  • 1959: New England Regional Group, 2nd Annual Meeting, Providence, RI, October 30-31, 1959
  • 1961: New England Regional Group of the MLA, 4th Annual Meeting 1961. October 20-21, New Hampshire State Hospital, Concord, New Hampshire
  • 1962: New England Regional Group of the MLA, 5th Annual Meeting 1962 Sept. 14-15 Jackson Laboratory Bar Harbor, ME
  • 1964: New England Regional Group of the MLA 7th Annual Meeting, Oct 23, 1964 Yale Medical Library New Haven, CT
  • 1965: New England Group of the MLA 8th Annual Meeting, Nov. 12-13, 1965 Countway Library, Boston MA
  • 1966: New England Group of the MLA 9th Annual Meeting Sept. 16-17, 1966 Dartmouth College Hanover NH
  • 1967: New England Group of the MLA 10th Annual Meeting, Nov 3-4, 1967 McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • 1968: NERG-MLA 11th Annual Meeting Sept 20-21, 1968 Univ. of Vermont, Medical Library, Burlington, VT
  • 1969: Upstate New York and New England Regional Groups of the MLA Meeting Oct. 3-4, 1969 Rochester, NY
  • 1970: NERG-MLA 13th Annual Meeting Sept. 25-26, 1970 Maine Medical Center, Portland ME
  • 1971: New England Group of the MLA 14th Annual Meeting, Sept. 24-25, 1971 Yale Medical Library, New Haven CT
  • 1972: New England Group of the MLA 15th Annual Meeting Sept. 15-16, 1972 Science Library, Brown University Providence RI
  • 1973: New England Regional Group 16th Annual Meeting Sept. 14-15, 1973 Dartmouth College
  • 1974: New England Group of the MLA 17th Annual Meeting Sept. 12-14, 1974 University of Connecticut Health Center, Farmington, CT
  • 1975: New England Group of the MLA 18th Annual Meeting Oct. 16-18, 1975 UMass Medical Center, Worcester, MA
  • 1976: NAHSL 19th Annual Meeting Sept 16-18, 1976 Burlington, VT
  • 1977: NAHSL 20th Annual Meeting Oct. 27-29, 1977 Montreal
  • 1978:; NAHSL 21st Annual Meeting Sept. 27-29, 1978 Wakefield, MA
  • 1979: NAHSL 22nd Annual Meeting Sept. 16-19, 1979 Sebasco Estates, Bath ME
  • 1980: NAHSL 23rd Annual Meeting Oct 22-25, 1980 Providence RI
  • 1981: NAHSL 24th Annual Meeting Sept 23-25, 1981 Hartford, CT
  • 1982: NAHSL 25th Annual Meeting Oct 11-14, 1982 Dixville Notch, NH
  • 1983: Executive Board
  • 1983: NAHSL 26th Annual Meeting Oct 5-9, 1983 Hyannis, MA
  • 1984: NAHSL 27th Annual Meeting Oct 22-24, 1984 Portland ME
  • 1985: NAHSL 28th Annual Meeting Oct 27-30, 1985 Newport, RI
  • 1986: NAHSL 29th Annual Meeting Oct 19-22 Farmington, CT
  • 1986: Executive committee and bylaws
  • 1987: 30th Annual Meeting Manchester, VT
  • 1987: Canadian connection
  • 1987: Handbook and budget
  • 1988: 33rd Annual Meeting Oct. 2-5, 1988 Harwichport MA
  • 1988-1989: Executive board meetings
  • 1989: Committee Reports and Open Form
  • 1989: 34th Annual Meeting Rockland ME Oct 22-25, 1989

Box 2: Series 1 - Folder List

  • 1990: executive board
  • 1990: 33rd Annual Meeting Oct. 21-24, 1990 Providence RI
  • 1991: Executive Board JACO revision discussion
  • 1991: 34th Annual meeting Oct 20-22, 1991 Mystic CT
  • 1991-1992: executive board
  • 1991-1992: Executive notebook
  • 1992: 35th Annual meeting Oct. 18-20, 1992 Portsmouth, NH
  • 1992: task force on annual meeting
  • 1992: Canadian membership info
  • 1992: Bylaw changes
  • 1992-1993: executive board
  • 1993: annual meeting task force
  • 1993: 36th Annual Meeting Oct 3-5, 1993 - Plymouth, MA
  • 1993-1994: Executive board, membership directory, manual, bylaws
  • 1994: 37th Annual meeting Oct 16-18, 1994 Bethel, ME
  • 1994-1995: executive board and bylaws
  • 1995: 38th  Annual meeting Oct 15-17, 1995 Providence RI, and Membership Directory
  • 1995-1996: Executive Board and Correspondence
  • 1996: 39th Annual meeting Oct 6-8th 1996 Greenwich CT
  • 1996: Planning Manual for annual conference
  • 1996: Annual meeting misc
  • 1996: Annual meeting misc
  • 1996: Annual meeting misc
  • 1996: Annual meeting misc
  • 1996: Annual meeting misc
  • 1996: Annual meeting misc
  • 1996: Annual meeting misc
  • 1996: Annual meeting misc
  • 1996: bylaws

Box 3: Series 1 - Folder List

  • 1996-1997: Executive board
  • 1997: 40th Annual Meeting Sept 27-30, 1997 Burlington, VT
  • 1997: Misc
  • 1997-1998: Executive board and Bylaws
  • 1998: 40th annual conference Sept 27-29 1998, Boston MA
  • 1998: misc
  • 1998-1999: Executive board and correspondence
  • 1999: annual meeting oct 3-5 1999 portland me
  • 1999: misc
  • 1999-2000: Executive board
  • 2000: Executive Board and other misc business
  • 2000: annual meeting- Oct 22-24, Newport RI
  • 2000-2001: executive board, bylaws, manual, other misc business
  • 2001: Executive Board and other Business Misc
  • 2001: Annual Meeting Oct 14-16, 2001 New Haven CT
  • 2002: Policy & Procedure manual and Membership Directory
  • 2002: Executive board and other business misc
  • 2002: Annual Meeting Sept 22-24, 2002 Bartlett, NH
  • 2003: Executive Board and other Business misc
  • 2003: Annual Meeting Oct 26-28, 2003 Sturbridge MA
  • 2003: membership
  • 2003-2004
  • 2004: Executive Board, Other Misc business, membership directory
  • 2004: annual meeting Oct 2-5, 2004 Sebasco ME
  • 2004-2005
  • 2005: Annual Meeting Sept 25-27, 2005 Providence RI
  • 2005: Executive Board and other misc business
  • 2005-2006

Box 4: Series 1 - Folder List

  • 2006: Annual Meeting oct 15-17 2006 NAHSL/NY-NJ MLA Joint Conference Hartford CT
  • 2006: Executive Board and other Misc Business
  • 2007: Annual Meeting Oct 28-30, 2007 Woodstock VT
  • 2007: Executive Board, Bylaws, Membership directory, other misc business
  • 2007: misc
  • 2007-2008
  • 2008: Policy Procedure and Bylaws
  • 2008 executive board and other misc business
  • 2008: executive board and other misc business
  • 2008: Conference Planning including 50th year info
  • 2008: Annual Meeting Oct 19-21, 2008 Lowell, MA (Celebrating 50yrs of NAHSL
  • 2009: Executive Board and other misc business
  • 2009: Executive board and correspondence
  • 2009: Annual Meeting Oct 25-27, 2009 Rockport ME
  • 2010
  • 2010-2011: Executive Committee
  • 2011
  • 2011: Annual meeting
  • 2012
  • 2013
  • 2014: Annual Conference Oct. 19-21, 2014
  • 2015: Annual Conference Oct. 18-20, 2015

Series 2: Sub-Committees and Special Project Records
Scope and content: Subcommittees and special projects.NAHSL Education committee materials and correspondence 1981- ongoing; NAHSL Benchmarking project 1996-1997; MLA Chapter Council 1981-1992; NAHSL Legislative committee and MLA Chapter Council materials and correspondence 1980-1995.

Box 5: Series 2 - No Folder List

Series 3: NAHSL History
Scope and content: Previously compiled historical writings and items that document the history of NAHSL. Additionally included are copies of materials from previous meetings that were used in historical writings and timelines.

Box 6: Series 3 - Folder List

  • Certificate of Incorporation, State of Connecticut (copy), 1983; Tax exempt Status letter, 20043
  • NAHSL history folder - Misc docs that need to be gone through
  • Historical - NAHSL structure
  • Stationary examples
  • Letterhead
  • Historical -Meeting Info 1958-1959
  • Historical - Meeting Info 1960-1969
  • Historical - Meeting Info 1970-1979
  • Historical - Meeting Info 1980-1989
  • Historical - Meeting Info 1990-1996

Series 4: NAHSL Publications
Scope and content: Newsletters. Collection is incomplete. A change in publication occurred in 1998 where numeration of volumes was changed to monthly; practice inconsistent after 1995.

Box 6: Series 4 - Folder List

  • 1985 Volume 3, Numbers 1, 2, 4, 6
  • 1986 Volume 4, Numbers 1, 2
  • 1987 Volume 5, Numbers 2, 3, 4, 5
  • 1988 July - September, October - December
  • 1989 January - June, July - September
  • 1990 January - March
  • 1991 January - March, April - June, July - September, October - December
  • 1992 January - March, April - June, July - September, October - December
  • 1993 January - March, April - June, July - September, October - December
  • 1994 January - March
  • 1995 May - June, November
  • 1996 February, May, August, Fall (Volume 14, Number 4)
  • 1997 Winter (Volume 15, Number 1), Spring (Volume 15, NUmber 2), December (Volume 15, Number 3)
  • Master set, 1983–1998, including only copy of 1998 May 6, June 17, July 1, October 3
  • Newsletter inventory Notes.
  • The Market News: Ideas for Marketing your Library, 2003 Fall (Issue 2)
  • HSLIC Cookbook, 2009

Series 5: Photographs and Memorabilia
Scope and Content: Photographs from NAHSL events, and examples of branded giveaway items made for attendees at events, i.e., baseball caps, keychains, notebooks, folders, flashlights, T-shirts, tote bags, buttons, stickers, etc. Audio cassette recordings are included in this series. Twelve audio-cassette recordings need to be dated and identified.

Box 7: Series 5 - No Folder list

  • Photograph albums, 1985 and 1986, 1991, 1996. Photos of Mouse pad, T-shirt, hat, Milk glass pineapple, buttons, mug. Audio cassette of Open Forum from NAHSL 1988. T-shirt from NAHSL 1994. Fabric poster from NAHSL 2008 (50-Year History of NAHSL). Photographs from 1992, 1994, 1999, 2001, 2008 (CD), 2009.

Box 13: Series 5 - No Folder List

  • Photograph albums 1987, 1988, 1989, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1998, and loose photographs of Robin LeSueur, Charles Colby (early year), and miscellaneous snapshots form 1995, 1999, and other years not dated.

Series 6: NAHSL Financial Records
Scope and Content: Records of the Treasure Anne Fladger

Box 14-16: Series 6 - No folder list 

  • Box 16 - Extra copy of 1968 Annual Meeting Proceedings
  • Box 16 - 2003 Conference Planning binders (temporary, will move to Box 3)